Office at the Beach

393

My daily training ground

A vast stretch of golden white sand spreads out before me every morning, as I get ready to run and wait for the sun to come up over the green mountain.

Raising a salute to the sun, I begin.

Not too long ago, I would spend nearly two hours getting from home to office through a crowded, smoky city. I would wake up everyday at 6am. Have a quick shower, iron my clothes, have a quick breakfast made by my sleepy mom, and then rush to catch the metro. After a 40min ride, I would then catch the office cab. Then we would play the radio, pick up 2-3 other colleagues and then FINALLY reach the office at 9.30am.

If I got up any later then 6, it would have a domino effect on the rest of the day. I would rush through the morning, and generally be grumpy throughout the whole day. Weekends were spent abusing my body with alcohol and restaurant food.

That’s how I used to spend the first year in the first job after college.

Now, I wake up at 6am. Take a deep breath. I have one single minded goal. To wear my shoes. That’s all. Nothing complicated. I have to tie those damn laces and wear them shoes.

I like to imagine that I am a great strategist with the wisdom of Sun Tzu and the energy of Alexander the Great, but the truth is, I am pretty lazy. So I trick my brain into focusing on a simple goal. After wearing the shoes, next thought goes like, well, might as well open the door now and smell the fresh air. After smelling the fresh air, well, I might as well go for a walk. After walking 20 min, well, might as well do a short run on the beach.

It is a great way to start the day. Everyday there is something new to see.

Whether it is fisherwomen at the early morning market near the beach (this is an evening photo of the market, but you get the idea).

Fisherwomen at the market with the day's catch

Fisherwomen at the market with the day’s catch

Or a cashew nut on a tree.

Cashew nut freshly plucked from a tree

Cashew nut freshly plucked from a tree

So that’s how I end up walking for 1.5 hours and running for 30min. Reach back home around 7.45 am. Get ready, have a shower, wear the clothes I ironed last night and am ready to rock. In office by 8.30am, and the first thing I do is prepare the To-do list for important tasks to be achieved through the day.

It is a blessing to stay close to the office. For the last two jobs now, I have been fortunate to stay not more than 10min away, and it’s great. I am sure that much of future stress has been avoided, just for the happy way I glide to office.

After working in the city, the beach and now a mixture of the countryside and the beach, I have to tell you, staying near the beach is pretty awesome. There are the obvious health benefits. And then there are so many other collateral benefits, which you don’t realize.

How long does it take you to go to the office now? What would you do if you worked 10 min away from the beach 🙂 ?

Your comments here :)

